An official website of the United States government
Here's how you know
A .mil website belongs to an official U.S. Department of Defense organization in the United States.
A lock (lock ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .mil website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.



Top performers recognized at annual awards banquet

  • Published
  • By 482nd Fighter Wing Public Affairs
Homestead Air Reserve Base announced its outstanding military members of the year during the Annual Awards Banquet at the Falcon's Nest Club on April 12.

The event, co-sponsored and hosted by the 482nd Fighter Wing and the Military Affairs Committee of the Greater Homestead/Florida City Chamber of Commerce, recognized outstanding military members stationed at the base.

Before the introduction of the Reserve, Air National Guard and Coast Guard award nominees and presentations, Mr. Dexter W. Lehtinen gave a speech to almost 200 people in attendance as the event's guest speaker.

The prominent Miami-area attorney and former State Representative, U.S. Attorney, Vietnam Veteran, Purple Heart recipient spoke about his experiences and thoughts on the Global War on Terrorism.

After names were announced from among the quarterly winners, the award recipients were bestowed with congratulatory gifts and tokens of appreciation by base commanders, Military Affairs Committee members, local elected officials and event sponsors while passing through a congratulatory line.

Winners of the annual awards by category were:

Senior Airman Tara Austin, 482nd Fighter Wing Airman of the Year

Tech. Sgt. Timothy Haffner, 482nd Fighter Wing NCO of the Year

Master Sgt. Tabatha Neville, 482nd Fighter Wing Senior NCO of the Year

Senior Master Sgt. Maria Houle, 482nd Fighter Wing First Sergeant of the Year

Capt. Daniel Moreno, 482nd Fighter Wing Junior Officer of the Year

Mr. James Buzek, 482nd Fighter Wing Civilian of the Year
Staff Sgt. Mike Yenchko, Det 1, 125th Fighter Wing Air Defense Warrior of the Year

Petty Officer 1st Class Taryce Criss, USCG Maritime Safety and Security Team Miami 91114 Sailor of the Year